pasterwarrior.blogg.se

My book essential 1tb firmware
My book essential 1tb firmware








  1. #My book essential 1tb firmware update
  2. #My book essential 1tb firmware Pc
  3. #My book essential 1tb firmware professional

Connected via USB in the My Book enclosure will happen to not “see” the disk neither in the Disk Management window, but the enclosure works perfect with another HD, so its not an enclosure problem.

#My book essential 1tb firmware Pc

Due to some problem the disk crashes the PC when is connected directly and of course it down show up in the Disk Management window.

#My book essential 1tb firmware professional

Im not professional in the subject, but a friend of mine it is, he says that he needs the ORIGINAL Firmware of my HD in order to fix it. But if the controller is somehow damaged and non-responsive, the drive just seems to be toast.

my book essential 1tb firmware

If it had still been working via SATA you could at least have continued to use the drive as an internal drive. If the drive won’t work in the enclosure and won’t work via SATA, then it looks like you’re down to buying a whole new external drive. Now that the warranty has been voided, and there’s no firmware available to flash the drive with (not that I’m seeing what that would necessarily accomplish in the first place) you would appear to be stuck. It seems as if it would have been easier to have WD replace the drive under warranty, if something had failed. Which makes me even more curious why the technician wants to flash it with the “original firmware”, when that’s what it has already. You’re right… I find no results anywhere on the WD website to indicate there ever was such a model as WD10EAVS.īut I still don’t get how you need the drive’s original firmware… since there never was any updates to that family of SATA drive (either before or after the EAVS was discontinued), any firmware flashed into the controller on the EAVS is the only firmware that’s ever been on that controller… in other words, it already has the original firmware on it.Īs far as I can tell, from searches at WD and internet-wide, there’s never been a firmware available for download for that family of drives from anywhere… what it has is what it’s always had. If you’ve removed the VCD from the EAVS, then you can now only hook it up to a SATA port on the motherboard and use it as an internal – the enclosure is no longer any good to you.Īnd I don’t get why the firmware for a Caviar would have been in the MyBook section in the first place – I’m not surprised that it’s not. The VCD is needed for the drive locking functions of the MyBook. It’s interesting that you say the drive was 9 months old, and yet the HD inside it is only 4 months old… was the 9 a typo, or are you trying to change the drive inside the enclosure?īecause, if you’re trying to either switch the drive or to remove the VCD partition from it, then it won’t work when you put it back in the enclosure. Of course, opening the case and connecting the drive directly to your motherboard through SATA has voided your warranty, so whatever the problem was that was causing your computer to suddenly crash after 4 months, I think you’re on your own here now. The firmware updates available from WD only apply to the previous generations of My Book Essential. What your drive shipped with is the current version of the firmware.

my book essential 1tb firmware

#My book essential 1tb firmware update

As far as I can tell, the firmware for the 2.0’s hasn’t been updated… there is no firmware update to download.










My book essential 1tb firmware